Council is the University's governing body and conducts its business according to the Instrument and Articles of Government as approved by the Privy Council.

Council is responsible for the educational character and mission of the University, financial probity, employment policy for all staff and corporate policies, rules and procedures to assure effective governance. It is also charged with establishing an Audit Committee, establishing a Senate and keeping its constitution under review, and making recommendations to the Privy Council regarding any necessary revisions to the Instrument and Articles of Government.

Scheduled meetings of Council will take place five times a year. Normally there will be three business meetings (one each term), one strategic meeting (annually) and one joint meeting each academic year with Senate.

Membership for the academic year 2019-2020 is as follows:

NamePositionTerm / Category of Office
Dr Michael HipkinsIndependent Member
(Chair 1-Sept-2016 onwards)
Appointed (1-Aug-2011 to 31-Jul-2015 and 1-Aug-2015 to 31-Jul-2021)
Irene KirkmanIndependent Member
(Deputy Chair 1-Aug-2018 onwards)
Appointed (1-Aug-2016 to 31-Jul-2020)
Professor Nick BraisbyVice-ChancellorEx-officio
Joanna BoardmanElected Member of Professional Service (PSE) StaffElected (1-Nov-2016 to 31-Jul-2020)
Andy ColeIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2019 to 31-Jul-2023) 
Anna CrabtreeIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2017 to 31-Jul-2021 and 1-Aug-2013 to 31-Jul-2017)
Annet GamellIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2019 to 31-Jul-2023)
Professor Florin IorasSenate RepresentativeNominated
Dr Maggie JamesIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2013 to 31-Jul-2017 and 1-Aug-2017 to 31-Jul-2021)
Ken McCreaCo-opted MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2013 to 31-Jul-2017 and 1-Aug-2017 to 31-Jul-2021)) 
Tim MarshallCo-opted MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2013 to 31-Jul-2017 and 1-Aug-2017 to 31-Jul-2021)
Anthony MurphyIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2015 to 31-Jul-2019 and 1-Aug-2019 to 31-Jul-2023)
Supriya SobtiIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2019 to 31-Jul-2023)
Tao WarbutonPresident of the Students' UnionEx-officio
Cheryl PittElected Member of Academic StaffElected (9-Oct-2017 to 31-Jul-2021)
Dr Susan RosserIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2016 to 31-Jul-2020) 
Bob ShennanIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2016 to 31-Jul-2020)
John SmithIndependent MemberAppointed (1-Aug-2015 to 31-Jul-2019 and 1-Aug-2019 to 31-Jul-2023)
Megan StaplesStudent RepresentativeAppointed (2018-2019)
VacancySenate RepresentativeNominated 

Additionally, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Director of Finance, Director of Strategic Planning & Change, Director of HR and other senior staff of the University attend meetings at the invitation of the Chair.

Please refer to the Council Committees document.

Meeting dates for 2019-2020 are as follows:

DateStart TimeEnd TimeLocation Meeting Type 
08 October 201916:0018:00HW-The RoomStrategy Meeting
18 November 201916:0017:30HW-The RoomJoint meeting of Senate and Council
18 November 201917:3019:30HW-G5.05Business Meeting
11 February 202016:0018:00HW- The RoomStrategy Meeting
16 March 202016:0018:00UX-3.07Business Meeting
2 June 202014:0018:00HW-S3.04Strategy Meeting
6 July 202016:0018:00Missenden AbbeyBusiness Meeting


9 July 20182018-07-09 COU Minutes Open (pdf)
5 June 20182018-06-05 COU Strategy Meeting Notes (pdf)
19 March 20182018-03-19 COU Minutes Open (pdf)
13 February 20182018.02.13 COU Strategy Meeting Notes (pdf)
20 November 2017 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2017.11.20 COU Minutes Open (pdf)

2017.11.20 JSC Minutes (pdf)

10 October 20172017.10.10 COU Strategy Meeting Notes (pdf)


10 July 20172017.07.10 CNC Minutes Open (pdf)
6 June 20172017.06.06 COU Strategy Day Notes (pdf)
20 March 20172017.03.20 CNC Minutes Open (pdf)
21 November 2016 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2016.11.21 CNC Minutes Open (pdf)

2016.11.21 JSC Minutes (pdf)


11 July 20162016.07.11 CNC Minutes (pdf)
7 June 20162016.06.07 CNC Minutes (pdf)
21 March 20162016.03.21 CNC Minutes (pdf)
23 November 20152015.11.23 CNC Minutes (pdf)
6 October 20152015.10.06 CNC Minutes (pdf)


6 July 20152015.07.06 CNC Minutes (pdf)
2 June 20152015.06.02 CNC Minutes (pdf)
23 March 20152015.03.23 CNC Minutes (pdf)
10 February 20152015.02.10 CNC Minutes (pdf)
24 November 2014 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2014.11.24 CNC Minutes (pdf)

2014.11.24 JSC Minutes (pdf)

14 October 20142014.10.14 CNC Minutes (pdf)


7 July 20142014.07.07 CNC Minutes (pdf)
10 June 20142014.06.10 CNC Minutes (pdf)
31 March 20142014.03.31 CNC Minutes (pdf)
18 February 20142014.02.18 CNC Minutes (pdf)
25 November 2013 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2013.11.25 CNC Minutes (pdf)

2013.11.25 JSC Minutes (pdf)

15 October 20132013.10.15 CNC Minutes (pdf)


8 July 20132013.07.08 CNC Minutes (pdf)
4 June 20132013.06.04 CNC Minutes (pdf)
18 March 20132013.03.18 CNC Minutes (pdf)
5 February 20132013.02.05 CNC Minutes (pdf)
19 November 2012 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2012.11.19 CNC Minutes (pdf)

2012.11.19 JSC Minutes (pdf)

16 October 20122012.10.16 CNC Minutes (pdf)


9 July 20122012.07.09 CNC Minutes (pdf)
29 May 20122012.05.29 CNC Minutes (pdf)
19 March 20122012.03.19 CNC Minutes (pdf)
7 February 20122012.02.07 CNC Minutes (pdf)
21 November 2011 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2011.11.21 CNC Minutes (pdf)

2011.11.21 JSC Minutes (pdf)

18 October 20112011.10.18 CNC Minutes (pdf)


11 July 20112011.07.11 CNC Minutes (pdf)
7 June 20112011.06.07 CNC Minutes (pdf)
21 March 20112011.03.21 CNC Minutes (pdf)
8 February 20112011.02.08 CNC Minutes (pdf)
22 November 2010 (includes Joint Senate-Council)

2010.11.22 CNC Minutes (pdf)

2010.11.22 JSC Minutes (pdf)

19 October 20102010.10.19 CNC Minutes (pdf)

If you require minutes prior to this date please contact the Academic Quality Directorate.

Secretary: Ellie Smith, Academic Registrar and Clerk to Council (x3554)
Minute Secretary: Marcus Wood, Principal Registry Officer (Governance & Quality), Academic Registry (x5066)