Bucks New University named a finalist across six categories in Student Nursing Times Awards


Date: 23rd Feb 2017

Buckinghamshire New University has been named a finalist across six categories in this year's Student Nursing Times Awards including Provider of the Year for Pre-Registration Nursing which recognises those institutions that offer high standards of academic and practical teaching, and excellent resources.

Dr Sharon Edwards, a senior nursing lecturer who was recently awarded a National Teaching Fellow of the Higher Education Academy for her teaching excellence, is shortlisted for Educator of the Year.

Bucks is also a finalist for the Teaching Innovation of the Year award for its interesting, innovative and engaging methods of teaching including the use of technology in the classroom, lectures and simulation, and bridging the gap between research and teaching practice.

The University has also been shortlisted for Partnership of the Year, won previously in 2016, for its work with Hillingdon Clinical Commissioning Group, Central and North West London NHS Trust and Health Education England (NWL). The collaborative partnership developed a Primary Care and Community Nursing Route for undergraduates.

Kaajal Thakrar has been shortlisted for Student Nurse of the Year for Child Nursing in recognition of the excellent communication skills and clinical knowledge required to care for children.

Jenny Stones has been shortlisted for the Outstanding Contribution to Student Affairs category which recognises individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to student affairs during their time at university.

Sue West, Dean of the Faculty of Society & Health at Buckinghamshire New University, said: "I am delighted that the University has been named as finalists for six awards, across a broad range of categories, which celebrate the very best in student nurses and nurse education. We are proud to see our teaching excellence and partnerships recognised, along with the achievements of our dedicated staff and hard-working students.’’

The winners for 2017 will be announced at a ceremony in London on 27 April at which the University will sponsor the award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Affairs.


  • Our University
  • Our Staff
  • Healthcare, Social Work & Education