Honorary Awards Committee

The Honorary Awards Committee meets once a year and reports to Council and Senate. The main purpose of this Committee is to consider nominations for honorary awards of the University (both degrees and fellowships) on a confidential basis.

The Honorary Awards Committee consists of the Chair of Council, the Vice-Chancellor and the two Senate members of Council, as well as 3 independent or co-opted members of Council and one member of Senate nominated annually by the Chair of Senate.

Membership for the academic year 2019-2020 is as follows:

NamePositionTerm / Category of Office
Dr Michael HipkinsChair of CouncilEx-officio (Chair)
Professor Nick BraisbyInterim Vice-ChancellorEx-officio
Gurdeep ChadhaIndependent Member 
Paul MorganSenate Nominee 
Anthony MurphyIndependent Member 
Bob ShennanIndependent Member  
Phil Wood MBESenate Member of CouncilEx-officio

The Deputy / Pro-Vice-Chancellor and the Clerk to the Council will also be in attendance.

Please see the Council Committees document.

Meeting dates for 2019-2020 are as follows:

DateStart TimeEnd TimeLocation Meeting Type 
5 February 201914:0015:30HW-VCCRStandard Business

Secretary: Lorna West, Vice-Chancellor's Office (x3002)

Useful Links