Governance Committee

The Governance Committee meets three times a year and reports to Council. The Governance Committee is responsible for looking after issues relating to the governance of the University.

Governance Committee consists of the Chair and Deputy Chair of Council, the Vice-Chancellor, the President of the Students' Union and a minimum of 3 independent members of Council.

Membership for the academic year 2017-2018 is as follows:

NamePositionTerm / Category of Office
Irene KirkmanDeputy Chair of CouncilEx-officio (Chair)
Professor Nick BraisbyVice-Chancellor, Internal MemberEx-officio
Dr Michael HipkinsChair of CouncilEx-officio
Anthony MurphyIndependent Member 
Tao WarbutonPresident of the Students' Union, Internal MemberEx-officio 
Cheryl PittAcademic Elected Member 
Dr Susan RosserIndependent Member

Please see the Council Committees document.

Meeting dates for 2018-2019 are as follows:

DateStart TimeEnd TimeLocationMeeting Type
8 October 201914:0016:00HW-VCCRStandard Business
4 February 202016:0018:00HW-VCCRStandard Business
26 May 202016:0018:00HW-VCCRStandard Business

Secretary: Ellie Smith, Academic Registrar and Clerk to Council (x3554)