Senate is responsible to the Council for: general issues relating to the research, scholarship, teaching and courses at the University; for taking any action it considers necessary to safeguard the standards of awards of the University and the quality of its provision; considering the development of the academic activities of the University and the resources needed to support them and advising the Vice-Chancellor and the Council thereon; and for advising on such other matters as the Council or the Vice-Chancellor may refer to Senate. Senate meets up to four times a year and has an additional joint meeting with Council.

Membership for the academic year 2018-2019 is as follows:

NamePositionSchool / DirectorateTerm / Category of Office
Nick BraisbyVice-ChancellorVice-Chancellor's OfficeEx-officio
Gavin BrooksDeputy Vice-ChancellorVice-Chancellor's OfficeEx-officio
Rachel CraggInterim Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education & Digital)Vice-Chancellor's OfficeEx-officio
Ellie SmithAcademic RegistrarAcademic RegistryEx-officio
Julie IrwinDirector of Student SuccessStudent Success DirectorateEx-officio 
Florin IorasDirector of Enterprise & ResearchEnterprise & ResearchEx-officio 
Sri-Kartini LeetHead of SchoolArt, Design & PerformanceEx-officio
Phil WoodHead of SchoolAviation & SecurityEx-officio 
Kevin MaherHead of SchoolBusiness, Law & ComputingEx-officio
Russel StoneHead of SchoolMedia & Creative IndustriesEx-officio
Lee CurtisInterim Head of SchoolHealth Care & Social WorkEx-officio
Paul MorganHead of SchoolHuman & Social SciencesEx-officio 
Karen Buckwell-NuttHead of SchoolNursing & Allied HealthEx-officio 
Lauren VincentTeaching representative Art, Design & PerformanceElected
Louisa BerryTeaching representative Aviation & SecurityElected 
John HathawayTeaching representativeBusiness, Law & ComputingElected
Rob PenhaligonTeaching representativeMedia & Creative IndustriesElected
Daisy D'Silva ToscanoTeaching representativeHealth Care & Social WorkElected
Dearbhla GallagherTeaching representativeHuman & Social SciencesElected
Helen Ayo-AjayiTeaching representativeNursing & Allied HealthElected
Richard JonesCommittee representativeEducation CommitteeNominated
Margaret GreenfieldsCommittee representativeResearch & Enterprise CommitteeNominated
Sainey FayeCommittee representativePartnerships BoardNominated
Tao WarburtonPresident of the Students' Union Students' Union Student Member 
Brooke PilbeamStudents' Union Vice-President (Education and Welfare) Students' Union Student Member

Terms of Reference are included in the University Committees document.

Meeting dates for 2018-2019 are as follows:

DateStart TimeEnd TimeLocation Meeting Type 
25 September 201914:0016:00HW-G5.05Regular 
18 November 201916:00 17:30HW-S3.01Joint meeting with Council 
18 December 201914:0016:00HW-G5.05Regular
25 March 202014:00 16:00HW-G5.05Regular
10 June 202014:00 16:00HW-G5.05Regular

Proposed agenda items should be sent to the Secretary at least two weeks before the meeting to enable the agenda to be set in good time. Papers should include a completed cover sheet. The template is available from the Secretary.


10 June 2020To follow
25 March 2020To follow
18 December 2019To follow

18 November 2019

(Joint meeting with Council)

2019.11.18 SEN COUN Minutes Open (pdf)
25 September 20192019.09.25 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)


5 June 20192019.06.05 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
13 March 20192019.03.13 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
5 December 20182018.12.05 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)

19 November 2018

(Joint meeting with Council)

To follow
26 September 20182018.09.26 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)


6 June 20182018.06.06 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
14 March 20182018.03.14 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
13 December 20172017.12.13 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)

20 November 2017

(Joint meeting with Council)

To follow
27 September 20172017.09.27 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)


7 June 20172017.06.07 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
22 March 20172017.03.22 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
14 December 20162016.12.14 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)

21 November 2016

(Joint meeting with Council)

2016.11.21 JSC Minutes Open (pdf)
28 September 20162016.09.28 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)


8 June 20162016.06.08 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
9 March 20162016.03.09 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
16 December 20152015.12.16 SEN Minutes Open  (pdf)


10 June 2015 2015.06.10 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
18 March 2015 2015.03.18 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)
17 December 2014 2014.12.17 SEN Minutes Open (pdf)


11 June 20142014.06.11 SEN Minutes (pdf)
19 March 20142014.03.19 SEN Minutes (pdf)
11 December 20132013.12.11 SEN Minutes (pdf)


5 June 20132013.06.05 SEN Minutes (pdf)
13 March 20132013.03.13 SEN Minutes (pdf)
12 December 20122012.12.12 SEN Minutes (pdf)


6 June 20122012.06.06 SEN Minutes (pdf)
14 March 20122012.03.14 SEN Minutes (pdf)
7 December 20112011.12.07 SEN Minutes (pdf)


 Meeting Minutes
8 June 20112011.06.08 SEN Minutes (pdf)
16 March 20112011.03.16 SEN Minutes (pdf)
8 December 20102010.12.08 SEN Minutes (pdf)

If you require minutes prior to this date please contact the Academic Registry.

Secretary: Miriam Moir, Head of Registry Services, Academic Registry (x5167)

Proposed agenda items should be sent to the Secretary at least two weeks before the meeting to enable the agenda to be set in good time.