Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible to Senate for issues relating to learning, teaching and assessment in respect of the University's academic taught portfolio. This will include putting into operation the educational aspects of the strategic plan, responsibility for the maintenance of quality and standards, and oversight of all aspects of the student journey. EDU meets three times per year plus an additional meeting to audit the Annual Monitoring process.

Membership for the academic year 2017-2018 is as follows:

NamePosition Faculty / Directorate Term / Category of Office 
Nick BraisbyVice-ChancellorVice-Chancellor's OfficeEx-officio (Chair)
Miriam MoirAcademic Registrar's nomineeAcademic RegistryEx-officio
Julie IrwinDirector of Student Success (Interim)Student Success DirectorateEx-officio 
Sue LeddingtonFaculty Quality Co-ordinatorSociety & HealthEx-officio
Ben ParmarStudents' Union PresidentStudents' UnionEx-officio
Lauren O'SheaStudents' Union Vice-PresidentStudents' UnionEx-officio
Steve DewhurstApprenticeship HubApprenticeship HubCo-opted
Paul MorganHead of School representativeSociety & HealthNominated
Jeremy KellyTeaching RepresentativeSociety & HealthNominated (Jan-2018 to Aug-2020)
Nic FryerTeaching RepresentativeDesign, Media & ManagementNominated (Feb-2016 to Aug-2018)
Mary SimpsonTeaching RepresentativeDesign, Media & ManagementNominated (May-2017 to Aug-2019)
Yvette ScottTeaching RepresentativeDesign, Media & ManagementNominated (Sept-2015 to Aug-2019)
Rebecca RochonTeaching RepresentativeSociety & HealthNominated (Sept-2015 to Aug-2018)
Ben ClaytonTeaching RepresentativeSociety & HealthNominated (Sept-2016 to Aug-2018)
Sanj NathooTeaching RepresentativeSociety & HealthNominated (Sept-2017 to Aug-2019)
Melanie HaywardTeaching RepresentativeSociety & HealthNominated (Sept-2017 to Aug-2019)
Danny O'KeefeUndergraduate Student RepresentativeStudents' UnionNominated
Hattie HornblowPostgraduate Student RepresentativeStudents' UnionNominated

Terms of Reference are published in the University Committees document.

Meeting dates for 2017-2018 are as follows:

DateStart Time End TimeLocation Meeting Type 
1 November 201714:0017:00HW-G5.05Normal 
9 November 201714:0017:00HW-G5.05Annual Monitoring
21 February 201814:0017:00HW-G5.05Normal
9 May 201814:0017:00HW-G5.05Normal

Proposed agenda items should be sent to the Secretary at least two weeks before the meeting to enable the agenda to be set in good time. Papers should include a completed cover sheet.

This Committee was reconstituted for 2017-2018 as a merger between the previous Education Committee and the Quality & Standards Committee. Minutes of previous committees are provided for reference.


9 May 2018To follow
21 February 2018To follow
9 November 2017

2017-11-09 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)
(Annual Monitoring)

1 November 20172017-11-01 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)


17 May 20172017.05.17 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)
8 March 20172017.03.08 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)
9 November 2016

2016.11.09 QSCEDU Minutes Open (pdf)
(Joint Committee with Quality & Standards)

25 October 20162016.10.25 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)


4 May 20162016.05.04 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)
10 February 20162016.02.10 EDU Minutes Open (pdf)
25 November 2015

2015.11.25 QSCEDU Minutes (pdf)
(Joint Committee with Quality & Standards)

18 November 20152015.11.18 EDU Minutes (pdf)

2014-2015 (Learning and Teaching Committee)

6 May 20152015.05.06 LTC Minutes (pdf)
4 February 20152015.02.04 LTC Minutes (pdf)
15 October 20142014.10.15 LTC Minutes (pdf)

2013-2014 (Learning and Teaching Committee)

7 May 20142014.05.07 LTC Minutes (pdf)
5 February 20142014.02.05 LTC Minutes (pdf)
4 December 20132013.12.04 LTC Minutes (pdf)

Secretary: Marcus Wood, Principal Registry Officer, Academic Registry (x5066)

Proposed agenda items should be sent to the Secretary at least two weeks before the meeting to enable the agenda to be set in good time.